Kale and Avocado Salad

I used to LIVE for Cadbury Creme Eggs.  When Easter was approaching I would scour the stores for their first appearance and do a little happy dance when I found them.  Ooooh – I love the milk chocolate and that creamy, oozy center.  They were such a treat for me that I had to have a moment while I was eating one – no talking to me and no sharing bites.  That was MY CHOCOLATE.

I loved them for years until I realized that they made my stomach hurt.  Or they made me get bloated.  Or constipated. Or all of the above.  Umm – how un-sexy is that when you are wearing your new cute Easter dress? I learned the hard way about how foods like Cadbury Creme Eggs (that have lots of sugar and dairy) affected me, and it wasn’t pretty.

Along the way I used my Cadbury days to understand how to balance my diet with foods that make me feel ENERGIZED and SKINNY.  And you know what?  The more I eat these “balancing” foods that me me feel AMAZING, I don’t even WANT the Cadbury Eggs anymore!

Now I’m not telling you to give up your Easter treats.  No way!  (In fact, I’ll probably have a little 70% dark chocolate that day).  I’m all for having treats, and a holiday usually calls for them.  What I DO want to tell you is to ADD IN some good things that will help you ward off the sugar crash, the bloating, or the tummy-ache.

How about a kale and avocado salad as a nice addition to your Easter brunch?  I first learned this recipe from Holly Thompson of Nutritional Style and it’s a winner – everyone LOVES it!

This recipe requires that you get messy, and use your hands. It’s loaded with antioxidants and healthy fats and tastes delicious. For an added protein punch, add some hemp seeds to finish it off.

Kale and Avocado Salad

1 head kale, any type
1 ripe avocado, chopped into tiny pieces.
Extra virgin olive oil
Sea salt
Cherry tomatoes
2 Spring onions
Juice of one lemon

Directions

  1. Remove center stalks from kale and slice into ribbons (I like to roll it up and slice across—chiffonade style).
  2. Add a little bit of olive oil and massage with your hands to coat kale (in a bowl)
  3. Add sea salt to the kale and massage further. (This will allow the kale to release more moisture and make it more palatable).
  4. Add an avocado and massage with your hands.  Feel free to “squish” it!
  5. Add tomatoes, sliced in half.
  6. Add sliced spring onions.
  7. Add juice of one lemon—toss.
  8. Sprinkle with hemp seeds—optional.

Enjoy and Happy Easter!

Heather

P.S.  Want to empower yourself to understand which foods serve you versus which foods make you bloated and icky?  Contact me for a 30-minute complementary discovery session and let’s get a game plan for you!

This entry was posted in Dinner recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

