15 Ways to Get Slow

I’m at an extremely exciting time in my life right now.  My health coaching practice is growing and blossoming in so many wonderful ways, my health is fantastic and I feel much younger than my real age (which won’t be revealed here!), my kids are at a super-duper age where I absolutely love their independent, pre-teen selves, Dave and I are happily going on 17 years of marriage, and I am happy.  Yep – life is swell, but sometimes, like this past week, I get slightly out of balance and I need to be a health coach to myself.

You see, while things are going so well, I am doings lots of things for my business that are hard for me – networking, marketing myself, and gaining exposure.  I’m also still keeping up with my studies at the Institute for Integrative Nutrition while also trying to exercise, cook, and take care of all the things my family needs while also staying SANE.  And, this week, my body rebelled a little:  my stomach hurt.

Woah.  After my struggle with Irritable Bowel Syndrome and all the embarrassment and discomfort (well, OK – PAIN) that comes with that, I thought I was cured.  And, for all intensive purposes, I am cured.    However, life is constantly in motion and we are all along a fabulous journey in it.  We are constantly changing and sometimes with change we may get out of balance.  For me, I get out of balance in my gut.  It’s my body’s way of telling me, “Hey, you are not being very nice to me right now. ”

Luckily for me I’m a health coach and I am taking my own advice.  Since I’ve been putting my health as a priority for the past several years, I am aware enough to listen to my body and to say, “Oh, OK body – I guess I better be a little nicer to you.”  So, what did I do?  I got slow.

What? Getting slow means taking time to smell the roses.  It means escaping the crazy, hurried rat race that we all live in these days.   Chillaxing.  Taking a little R&R.  Nurturing myself back to balance.

So, I put on my health coaching cap and implemented some of my getting slow suggestions.  Here’s some of my favorite ways to get slow.

  1. Get a massage (or have your significant other rub your shoulders for 10 minutes).
  2. Take a walk (even a 10 minute one).
  3. Have a cup of herbal tea and savor it.
  4. Eat a piece of dark chocolate and see how long you can stretch out the experience.
  5. Read a  trashy magazine or a chapter in a good book.
  6. Take 3 deep, cleansing breaths – anywhere, anytime.
  7. Write in a journal (I call this a brain dump).
  8. Pet the cat.
  9. Hug someone.
  10. Call a friend.
  11. Meditate.
  12. Treat yourself (yes, it is a treat!) to your favorite form of exercise.
  13. Watch Glee (or whatever upbeat show or movie you REALLY love).
  14. Make yourself something yummy but good for you to eat (so you won’t feel guilty afterwards).
  15. Paint your nails (or better yet, get a mani or pedi).

I could go on and on.  The important thing here is to get slow in a way that YOU enjoy.  Us women take so little time for self care, yet it is so very important.  When we take care of ourselves, we can be fully present for the people and things in our life that matter to us.  Without taking such care, we are really a shell of our best selves and we are cheating those around us to the best relationship possible with us – that we are truly 100% present and experiencing life to the fullest.

You know what? After I took my own advice (with the help of my unofficial health coach Lori) I feel better – more balanced.  Thanks Lori.  🙂

Have you ever felt like you need some support around your health?  Contact me to schedule a 30-minute Wanna Eat Well Discovery Session and we’ll walk through your challenges.  I am balanced now and here for ya!

This entry was posted in Holisitic Health Tips and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 15 Ways to Get Slow

  1. Great article, Heather! It is a hard thing to take care of ourselves and you put out some great tips about doing just that. If everyone would practice self-care, what a different place we would live in. 🙂

  2. Jennie Elliott says:

    thanks you SO much for this reminder to be nice to ourselves!

Leave a Reply

