Morning Page Therapy

Way back in my PK (pre-kid) years I took a course on The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron.  It was a course on how to tap into your inner creativity.  What?  I’m not creative!  I never grew up thinking I was, but Julia showed me that we all are creative in so many ways.  One of the ways to gain back that creativity is to simply journal in the morning.  And, it’s not even a pretty type of journaling – it’s a brain dump.  Julia describes it as this:

Morning Pages are three pages of longhand, stream of consciousness writing, done first thing in the morning. There is no wrong way to do Morning Pages– they are not high art. They are about anything and everything that crosses your mind– and they are for your eyes only. Occasionally colorful, more often than not Morning Pages are negative, fragmented, repetitive or bland. Good!  Worrying about your job, the laundry, the weird look your friend gave you – all that stuff distracts you from your creativity. It eddies through your subconsciousness and muddies your day. Get it on the page first thing in the morning and move on with your day with a freer spirit.

I’ve done them on an off over the years – more often “off” than “on” but since I have enrolled at the Institute for Integrative Nutrition and am engaging in a full year of self care, nourishment, and whole-self development I decided to pick them up again.  It’s three pages of absolutely nothing but little things that are on your mind first thing in the morning.  Not too hard.  But – WOW.  The difference was almost immediate.

When I do my pages I am better able to figure out my plan of action for the day because I don’t get distracted with the little things.

When I do my pages I don’t sweat the small stuff.  And, even the big stuff!  My computer crashed last week due to a nasty virus, and after several days, Dave was able to get it back up and running for me.  While I was attempting to be patient and worrying that I may not have a computer anymore, I wrote my pages.  They helped me stay calm and actually enjoy my time offline.

And, when I do my pages I am happier.  I “dump” the negative, worrysome stuff and I give myself a little pep talk on the pages and then I have a new attitude.

So, imagine how thrilled I was when I found out that Julia was our guest lecturer this week.  I think I re-found a new mentor!  She’s helped me find a new “therapy” that’s cheap, quick, and easy!  Check out her website to learn more and wake up to a whole new you.

AND – it’s official – I am ready to see clients and already have a few lined up.  I am so thrilled to be able to help others feel their best self.  Check out my health coaching website to learn more and let me know how I can help you reach your health and wellness goals!

This entry was posted in Holisitic Health Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Morning Page Therapy

  1. Beth Rizer says:

    You’re such an amazing Health Coach!!

  2. Samantha says:

    Love your logo! and am a big fan of Julia Cameron and the magic she draws out of each of us. when I went to a workshop with her in NYC she showed us her red underwear! LOL! Thankyou for sharing! xoxo

Leave a Reply

