Ahhhh – a massage

I had a lovely massage last night and I am so relaxed and blissful right now!  I slept great, and while my back is still a little sore from the deep tissue rub, I know by tomorrow it will be chilled out and ready to roll.  I love, love, love my masseuse (who happens to be a very petite woman with the strength of an ox and who works on my back like a piece of meat!)  Did you know that you can get all these benefits from regular massage therapy?

  • Relaxed muscles
  • Stress relief
  • Improved posture & circulation
  • Lowered blood pressure
  • Increased flexibility and range of motion
  • Relief from tension-related headaches
  • Strengthened immune system

That’s some powerful stuff!  Many people look at massage as an indulgence or treat to have only once or twice a year.  For me, I look at it as preventative maintenance and as a part of my regular self care.  I get one each month, and to me, it’s worth every penny.  You see, I, as many of you are, am a mom, a wife, a sister, a daughter, a chauffeur, a cook, a friend, a student, an entrepreuneur, and the list goes on and on.  I realized a long time ago that if I don’t take care of myself, who is going to?  And, if I don’t take care of myself, I can’t take care of my family and function effectively in all of my roles.

So many women in our society put everyone else’s needs in front of their own.  They don’t mean to – it’s just that their time and attention get pulled in so many other directions and they just don’t carve out any time for themselves.  If you’re this woman, I encourage you to listen and to begin to put self care at the top of your list!  I totally believe in the statement that “if momma ain’t happy, no one is happy!”  By taking care of ourselves first, we can be energetic and fully dive in (cheerfully!) to all of our other roles.

Still not big on massage?  Maybe your self care item of choice is a hot bath, a pedicure, a nap, a long walk, a cool song on your iPod, or a good book.  Or maybe you like all of those!  Whatever you do to nurture your self is well worth it.  Take time out for YOU and, not only will you enjoy it, but your family and friends will reap the benefits as well.

This entry was posted in Holisitic Health Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

