A bad case of TMF (Too much fun)

It’s the middle of August already and summer is nearly over for us.  As I look back over the summer, I realize just how much we did and how much fun we had!  We took trips to New Mexico, Hawaii, and Colorado – all fantastic ventures outside of the Austin heat.  New Mexico was a family visit – getting “our ranching on” at Dave’s grandparents’ ranch.  Hawaii was pure vacation bliss with beautiful beaches, snorkeling adventures, and fabulous scenery.  Colorado was another family visit, but filled with cool mountain air, outdoor activities, and seeing one adorable 9 month old nephew!

Now it’s time to “get back into the swing of it.”  I am secretly (shh!  Don’t tell them!) looking forward to the kids going back to school so that I can better focus on my own schooling and the upcoming launch of my health coaching business!  I am eager to be able really dive in and study, network, etc. more than I have been able to this summer.  I love to check off lists and get things done, but as I look back on our summer, I realize that what we did is also necessary to being healthy.  After all, one of the best ways to nurture our souls is to take a break and enjoy life.  I think we did a pretty good job of that this summer (thus the TMF syndrome)!

The Institute for Integrative Nutrition calls this type of rejuventation “Primary Food.”  It’s everything non-caloric that fuels you – your family, your friends, your relationships, your life experiences.  After all, you can have the best eating habits around, but if you hate your job or are unhappy with your life, are you really living well?

I am looking forward to enhancing my “non-caloric food” even further today as I begin Deepak Chopra’s 21 Day Meditation Challenge.  I’ve heard it’s a life-changer, and I can’t wait to improve on my meditation skills to further add balance to my life.  I’ll be participating with dozens of my classmates, along with people all over the world. Won’t you join me?

Enjoy your day and let me know what you do to enhance your life in non-food ways.

This entry was posted in Holisitic Health Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

