Farmers’ Market Bliss

OK – I admit that I get a little giddy when I head to the Farmer’s Market on Saturday mornings.  While our garden veggies were delicious, our crop is just about done now so I love “supplementing”with locally grown produce from my favorite market, Cedar Park Farms to Market.  It’s like a carnival of health – fresh produce, friendly people, music, crafts, and even pets.

So beautiful, isn’t it?  I stopped first at Tecolote Farms (pictured above) and filled my bags with tomatoes, cucumbers, parsley, carrots and basil.  Ooohhh – basil.  the smell is like crack to me – I could just stick it in front of my nose all day and have a silly grin on my face.  Anyway, their presentation was so amazing and their veggies are fantastic that they have become a favorite stand of mine.

I then had to head to my ol’ faithful stand, Johnson’s Backyard Garden.  I LOVE Johnson’s Backyard Garden!  I can always count on their stand any time of the year for fantastic produce and a huge selection.  I had to get some chard, some cute potatoes, fab yellow bell peppers, onions, and a fresh canteloupe.

Manheim Market Gardens had incredibly huge watermelons, and, it being the 4th of July weekend, it’s a law that I had to buy one, right?  I even had them deliver it to my car – how’s that for service?

I finished up my rounds at Kitchen Pride Mushroom Farms, where I bought a crazy looking portobello! I can’t WAIT to grill it.

I didn’t stop at 2 of my other favorite stands today, Lala’s Lemonade (my secret bribe when my kids come with me), and I had to just walk away from The Mediterranean Chef, where their hummus to DIE for (I already have some hummus in the fridge).

There are so many great stands there – my budget won’t allow me to visit all of them all the time, but as I was driving home I was wondering, “Am I a farmer’s market addict?”  I think I am!  Hopefully that’s not a bad thing – after all, what could be more satisfying than supporting local farmers, feeding my family some fresh, healthy food, and having fun at the same time?  Here’s to fresh summer produce!

And this isn't even all of it!

This entry was posted in Holistic Health Tips and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Farmers’ Market Bliss

  1. Ahhhhhh…fresh summer produce! Simply simple and delicious!

  2. Brilliant photos, and how lucky to have this delicious abundance on your doorstep!

  3. katie says:

    Thanks for the nice comments about our Cedar Park farmers market stand. We will be back with fall abundance in mid to late October. I see you even used a picture of our produce for your blog header- thank you! Glad you got some Tecolote Farm love!

Leave a Reply

