Blueberry Muffins (Vegan and Gluten Free)

The kids have been asking for blueberry muffins, and it’s blueberry season, so why not?  If I was going to make them though, I was going to experiment with a gluten free recipe since I’m still on a gluten free trial.  I found a fellow blogger who had some success, so I copied her lead and used a gluten free mix as the base.  Cheating you say?  Well, as I am learning, gluten free baking is quite a science – many flours and things like xanthan gum to add – so for beginners it may be easier to try a mix first.  I used “Gluten Free Pantry Muffin and Scone Mix” from Whole Foods.

 

 

 

 

 

The mix ingredients include white rice flour, sugar, potato starch, baking powder (corn), salt, sodium, corn starch, xanthan gum.  Other ingredients are:

6 tablespoons softened Earth Balance Buttery Sticks (this is the hands down best non-dairy baking alternative to butter!)
2 tablespoons flax seed meal
6 tablespoons water
1/2 teaspoon gluten free vanilla
1 cup non-dairy milk (I used vanilla almond milk)
1 cup blueberries

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray muffin tins with non-stick spray.
  • Which flax seed meal, water, Earth Balance, vanilla, and almond milk together.
  • Stir in mix and whisk until smooth.
  • Fold in blueberries (gently or you will have purple muffins!)
  • Spoon better into muffin cups and bake 16 minutes or until cake tester comes out clean.
  • Turn onto rack.  Cool completely.  May be frozen.  Makes about 12 muffins.

Rating:  A- to B+.  I thought these were super moist and yummy – not too sweet and delicious with fresh blueberries in them.  Kate gave them a B rating, probably because she had the real thing (you know, full of transfats and eggs) last week while we were on the road.  I conveniently ignored her while licking off the blueberry juice from my fingers!

This entry was posted in Breakfast Recipes, Quickbread Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment