Teff Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies (Gluten Free/Dairy Free)

With my studies at the Institute for Integrative Nutrition, I am exploring over 100 different dietary theories.  The goal is to be aware of them and to learn that no one diet works for everyone.  Eating a plant based (vegan) diet has been working for me, but I haven’t finished my quest to improve my health even further, so I am going gluten free for a “spell.”  It’s again opening new culinary doors for me and I am enjoying the challenge!

Peanut buttery goodness

I started off gluten free, vegan baking with a bang because these cookies are really yummy!  They are made with teff flour.  What is teff, you say?  Teff is the smallest grain in the world.  It has a high percentage of bran and germ so it’s a great source of dietary fiber (always a good thing!).  It’s also high in protein and iron.  Teff was first enjoyed by Ethiopians.  So, try some teff and get some bountiful multicultural nutrition.  It’s definitely a way to “indulge” deliciously with a nutritional powerhouse!

I got this recipe from Terry Walters’ Clean Food (a graduate from IIN! but it’s tweaked just a little.

1-1/2 cups teff flour (preferably ivory – but I couldn’t find ivory and used the darker version)
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup chunky 100% peanut butter
1 cup maple syrup – I realized after I started that I didn’t have 1 cup of maple syrup, so I used 1/2 cup of maple syrup and 1/2 cup of agave nectar.  Results:  Superb!)
1/2 cup semisweet dark chocolate chips

  • Preheat oven to 350°F.
  • Combine all dry ingredients in one bowl and all wet ingredients in another.
  • Pour wet ingredients over dry and blend until just combined – do not overmix.
  • Fold in chocolate chips.
  • Line cookie sheet with parchment paper.
  • Drop batter by heaping teaspoons onto cookie sheet.
  • Leave cookies free-form or press down in crisscross pattern with tines of fork.
  • Place in oven and bake 13 minutes or until lightly browned.
  • The key to these cookies is not to overbake them!
  • Remove from oven and place directly on wire rack to cool.

MAKES 20-24 cookies

Rating:  B+.  While a little crumbly, the taste is pure peanut butter and chocolate bliss.  My husband and I really enjoyed these.  The kids gave them a “pretty good” but said they were “very peanut buttery.”  Hmm – that’s a bad thing?  They didn’t have any problem eating them, though.  Yummo!

This entry was posted in Cookie Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Teff Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies (Gluten Free/Dairy Free)

  1. Mary Lu Breshears says:

    These sound great Heather! I’ve had teff in injera in the Ethiopian restaurant in Tucson that is my favorite place to eat….injera is a wonderful spongy bread used as an eating implement. I’ve wanted to try making it so if I have extra teff I can make these cookies. Thanks for your inspiring posts! And the photos are beautiful too!

  2. iwannacookie says:

    Mary Lu – Now I want to try injera – it sounds yummy! I bet you’re having all sorts of non-Ethiopian food now through – how are those yummy rice and beans down there in Colombia? Ymmmm..

  3. Where did you find the teff?

    • iwannacookie says:

      Lindy – I had to ask the staff at Whole Foods for it – they have Bob’s Red Mill brand, and it’s quite pricey but you don’t need too much for this recipe.

  4. Mary Lu Breshears says:

    Colombia has a very meat-based food culture, but we are finding delicious vegetarian alternatives too! The highlight is the amazing selection of tropical fruits….many I’ve never heard of. Fabulous juices made from them are available everywhere!

  5. Heather, I have been gluten free for about 3 months now. I can’t believe how different I feel, physically and emotionally! I wonder if teff would make good “bran” muffins which are one of the wheat things I really, really miss?

    • iwannacookie says:

      Sandy – I am so glad that making changes to your diet is working for you! I’ll have to research gluten free bran muffins – I’ll bet there’s a really good alternative flour to use out there for it – whether it’s teff or something else!

Leave a Reply

