Summer Black Bean Burritos

It’s HOT in Austin today.  My car thermostat said 102!  Who could be in the mood to turn on an oven on a day like this?  We wanted a cool dinner, so I made these summer black bean burritos.

2 cans black beans, rinsed ( I prefer organic ingredients for all of these items)
1 bag frozen white corn, thawed and rinsed
1 large red bell pepper, finely chopped
1/2 red onion, finely chopped
1 bunch basil, finely chopped
Juice of 1 1/2 limes
3 Tablespoons each olive oil and balsamic vinegar
3/4 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
Corn tortillas, softened (I have found Food for Life sprouted corn tortillas that are to die for! They are gluten free for those of you who are sensitive to gluten, and they are so yummy.)
Avocados
Green tomatillo salsa

  • Mix beans, corn, bell pepper, onions and basil together in bowl.
  • Mix remaining ingredients in a separate bowl and then mix with beans, etc.
  • I like to make this several hours ahead of time to let the flavors mix.

Serve on corn tortillas and garnish with avocados and green tomatillo salsa.

Rating:  A++.  Most black bean salad recipes call for cilantro instead of basil, but I’m such a basil freak (really – just ask Dave), that I put it in everything and prefer it in this salad.

Dave and I enjoyed this with some sauteed chard from our garden topped with roasted pumpkin seeds.  To me, it was a perfect summer dinner.

Disclaimer:  OK!  OK!   So my kids aren’t so hip on the black bean salsa, so they enjoyed corn tortillas with avocado and a little cheese with more raw veggies on the side.  I am trying.  🙂

This entry was posted in Dinner recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summer Black Bean Burritos

  1. Cheryl says:

    Heather – These look amazing!! I’m going to give them a try, though I won’t be able to use those yummy tortillas! And good for you for trying with the kids….they’re healthier for it!
    -YUMMO! Cheryl

Leave a Reply

