Pumpkin Muffins with Agave

I know!  Pumpkin is not in season!  But I had a can of pumpkin in my pantry and I wanted a warm, yummy muffin for breakfast.  I have been wanting to experiment more with agave nectar, so I took the opportunity this morning.  Agave is the new “it” sweetener – it’s all natural and won’t give you the sugar high and crash.  So, humor me in my endless variations of recipes while I explore all these sweeteners and various ingredients.  🙂

Pumpkin Muffins with Agave

1¾ c pumpkin purée
1/3 c oil
½ c agave
1/4 c sugar (I know – I wanted to do it all with agave, but after tasting the batter, I knew it wouldn’t fly with my family.  So, I added some sugar.  My consolation is that this is a very small amount and that we may get to 100% agave at some point.  And, as always, I use pure cane sugar – never the refined white sugar.)
¼ c water
1¾ c whole wheat pastry flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp ground ginger
½ tsp nutmeg
½ tsp salt
¼ tsp pumpkin pie spice
½ c chopped walnuts or pecans, optional (I omitted)

  • Preheat oven to 350°F. In a large bowl, mix together pumpkin, oil, agave, sugar, and water. In a small bowl, sift together flour, soda, baking powder, salt, and spices.
  • Add dry mixture to wet mixture and mix until just combined.
  • Fold in nuts, if using.
  • Pour into muffin tins and bake 14 – 18 minutes, or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.

Rating:  A-.  These are moist, pumpkin-y, and mildly sweet.  Smooth is the word that comes to mind – very nice to wake up to on a lazy weekend morning!  While I REALLY want to get away from too many sugary baked goods, I personally like my Pumpkin Flax muffins with maple syrup more (I think it’s my sweet tooth creaming at me!), but my husband, the “non-sweet guy” likes these better.  Nathan tells me that “they taste about the same.”  Hmmm – it’s all up to personal preference, I think.  In any case, these are worth baking again.  They are best warm with some Earth Balance Butter.  Yum.

This entry was posted in Quickbread Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

