Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

My kids love chocolate chip cookies, so when I saw this slightly healthier version in Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar, I wanted to try it.  I adapted it slightly to what ingredients I had on hand.  As you bakers know, sometimes that works, sometimes it doesn’t.  In this case, I should have probably followed the recipe more closely.  Here’s my adapted version:

Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

2/3 C turbinado sugar (this sugar is very grainy and dark – this was part of the ho-hum-ness)
1/3 C canola oil
1/2 C soy milk
2 T cornstarch
2 t pure vanilla extract
2 C white whole wheat flour
1/2 t baking soda
1/2 t salt
1 C semisweet chocolate chips

 

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • In a mixing bowl, mix together the sugar and oil for about a minute.  You want to get the sugar a bit broken down.  Add the milk and cornstarch and beat vigorously until there are no clumps left.  Mix in the vanilla.
  • Add half the flour, the baking soda, and salt and mix well.  Mix in the remaining flour.  Fold in the chocolate chips.
  • Drop dough by rounded tablespoons onto baking sheets lined with parchment paper.  Space the cookies about 2 inches apart and flatten them down a bit with your fingers.
  • Bake 10 minutes for soft, chewy cookies, 12 minutes for crispier ones.  When they’re done baking, let the cookies rest on the sheets for about 5 minutes before transferring them to wire wracks to finish cooking.

 

Rating:  B-

My kids liked these OK – although they joked about their small hockey-puck like appearance.  They were soft, but just tasted like they were missing something.  While I am going to use the recommended sugars next time, I may try whole wheat pastry flour instead to make them a little lighter.  I plan to make these again soon while it’s still fresh in my mind (and on our tongues), so stay tuned!

This entry was posted in Cookie Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

