Pumpkin Flax Muffins

With my in-laws in town, I decided to re-do my squash muffin recipe with pumpkin.

2 tablespoons flax seed meal
6 tablespoons water
1 1/2 cups sugar (I got on my maple syrup kick again and used 1 cup raw cane sugar and 1/2 C maple syrup)
1 cup canned pumpkin puree
1/2 cup applesauce (I used 1/4 cup safflower oil and 1/4 cup applesauce to make them taste more rich – it worked!)
1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
1/3 cup whole wheat pastry flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly grease one 9×5 inch loaf pan or muffin pan.
2. Whisk together flax seed meal and water. Mix in sugar, pumpkin and apple sauce (and oil).
3. In a large bowl, stir together all-purpose flour, whole wheat flour, baking soda, cinnamon, salt, baking powder, nutmeg, and cloves. Add flour mixture to pumpkin mixture; stir until smooth. Pour batter into prepared pan.
4. Bake in preheated oven for 65 to 70 minutes for bread, 25-30 minutes for muffins, until a toothpick inserted into center of the loaf comes out clean.

Rating: A. Everyone liked them.  I may “be a little bad” though and not do the maple syrup next time – the maple syrup doesn’t compliment the pumpkin flavor as much as I’d like.  Maybe I’ll try agave nectar?  I hear it’s flavorless.  We’ll see – for as much as my son loves pumpkin baked goods, I’ll be toying with pumpkin recipes a lot more this fall!

This entry was posted in Quickbread Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pumpkin Flax Muffins

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Flax Muffins 2 « I Wanna Cookie

Leave a Reply

