Chocolate-chocolate chip-walnut cookies

So who doesn’t love chocolate?  I myself am a self-proclaimed chocoholic.  So, when I saw this recipe in Veganomicon, I wanted to test it out.  I made a few substitutions, though.  You see, I am getting really excited about using safflower oil in baking in place of any other oil.  Not only it is super healthy for you, it’s got a really rich flavor.  So, my version has safflower oil instead of canola oil. In addition, I’m really trying to reduce the amount of processed sugar amounts in my baking.  For this one, I substituted ½ c of the sugar with maple syrup.  Maple syrup, while expensive, is a pure, natural sweetener that doesn’t have the same addictive qualities as processed sugar.  And it makes everything so yummy!

 

Pure chocolate yumminess

 

2 C all-purpose flour
2/3 C unsweetened Dutch-processed cocoa powder
1 t baking soda
½ t salt
2/3 c safflower oil
1 C sugar (I use pure cane sugar)
½ C maple syrup (the real kind, no Aunt Jemima stuff(
4 t ground flaxseeds
½ C soy milk
2 ½ t pure vanilla extract
¾ C non-dairy chocolate chips
¾ C walnuts, chopped
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
In a large bowl, sift together the four, cocoa, baking soda, and salt.
In a separate large bowl, mix together the oil, sugar and maple syrup.  Add the flaxseeds, soy milk, and vanilla and mix well.
Fold in dry ingredients in batches.  Add the chocolate chips and walnuts and mix in.
Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.  Scoop doung into balls about 1 ½ inches in diameter.  Place about an inch apart on the lined cookie sheets.
Bake for 10 minutes.  Removed from the oven and cool for about 5 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.
Makes about 2 ½ dozen.

My whole family gave 2 thumbs up – these are REALLY chocolatey and yummy.  I shared them with friends at a barbeque and everyone loved them.

This entry was posted in Cookie Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chocolate-chocolate chip-walnut cookies

  1. iwannacookie says:

    I just made these again today after my son claimed that the store bought cookies that he could get in the cafeteria were delicious. He now says differently! I need to remember to keep more whole foods goodies in the house so my kids aren’t so tempted by all the other junk out there! Just a note: I swapped out 1 c og alk-purpose flour with whole wheat pastry flour. It worked wonderfully but I did need to add several more tablespoons of soy milk to get the consistency right. The dough should be moist, not crumbly or grainy, and you will have perfect cookies!

Leave a Reply

